Testimonials & Reviews

Ray Sheppard Jr., MD

General Surgery and Advanced Robotic Surgery located in Huntsville, AL & Madison, AL

101 total reviews

Dr. Ray Sheppard Jr. always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 101 reviews with an average rating of 4.91 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Ray Sheppard Jr. below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

ROBERT H.
Submitted 12/24/21
First class experience from the initial visit to post op. Staff at office and at surgery center courteous and professional. Dr. Sheppard is caring and concerned. I could not have wished for better treatment and care.
CHARLES S.
Submitted 12/09/21
Dr. Sheppard did an excellent job of explaining the procedure ahead of time, conducting the surgery, and making sure everything was okay afterwards. I would highly recommend him.
SARA M.
Submitted 12/09/21
Dr. Sheppard was compassionate before surgery. The experience from the first office visit to post-surgery follow up could not have been better.
Jerry B.
Submitted 12/02/21
Dr. Sheppard is an excellent doctor. He explains everything in depth. My surgery went very well, my wife was very pleased with the way he answered all her questions after my surgery. If anyone in my family is ever in need of a general surgeon he is the one we will use. I would recommend Dr. Ray Sheppard Jr. To anyone who needs a general surgeon.
AISHA L.
Submitted 10/22/21
I like the fact that he listened and took my problem seriously.
HELEN H.
Submitted 10/07/21
Always polite and very through. Dr Sheppard is great
JEFFERY E.
Submitted 09/02/21
Discussions with the surgeon went well. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because of the lengthy waiting time to see him (70 minutes)
CALVIN M.
Submitted 08/27/21
From my first visit to my last one. The staff was very accomadating. Dr. Sheppard is one of the most humble Doctors that I have encountered. I give a ten rating.☺
KAREN A.
Submitted 08/17/21
Dr. Sheppard and staff are attentive, caring, and thorough. I have always been pleased with their services.
Craig C.
Submitted 07/24/21
Pre-Op meeting very professional. Excellent interaction from Dr. Sheppard. Actual surgery went very well. Procedure was uncomplicated, but Dr. Sheppard took the extra step of dealing with a potential problem that may have impeded healing of the entry cut. Gave me a feeling of confidence about the entire procedure. Healing was uneventful and complete.
PHILIP M.
Submitted 07/22/21
Efficient, great scheduling, smart and friendly doctor. Amazing experience !
RENE M.
Submitted 07/08/21
Always look forward to my appointments because everyone is friendly and polite. I don't feel rushed and I get in and out in a timely manner.
AMANDA G.
Submitted 07/07/21
I’ve seen Dr. Sheppard twice for the same reason. Due to health issues we had to put on hold for a few months. I find he is very easy to talk to, he listens and understands and shows concern for my health as well. His staff is friendly and wonderful to work with too. I appreciate the time they put in during my appointments.
Barry M.
Submitted 04/27/21
Dr. Sheppard performed laparoscopic hernia surgery on me. I have a remaining lump that he is sure is merely scar tissue. It bothers me a bit and he welcomes return visits to ensure that there is not a real problem. It is difficult to say whether follow-up visits should be charged. Besides all the legal paperwork, a clear discussion of the risks for follow on treatment would have better prepared me. There is so much going on regarding the use of mesh to repair hernias that routine follow-up should perhaps be included if there is a concern. On the other hand, a physicians time is limited. It is important to understand the risks. At this point, I feel that Dr. Sheppard is probably one of the better practitioners in the field.
DAVID S.
Submitted 04/21/21
I believe that the people at that work with you are very professional and knowledgeable
MARVIN S.
Submitted 04/06/21
Very courteous, and professiional, well pleased with my visit. Highly recommend Dr. Sheppard.
REBECCA K.
Submitted 01/08/21
Not only was Dr. Sheppard thorough in treating my cancer, his bedside manner was extremely kind and compassionate. He answered all my questions and never tried to rush me so he could move on to the next patient. His prayer with me before surgery calmed my fears. Highy recommend!!!
DANA H.
Submitted 08/19/20
Christian Friendly and Professional! So pleased with Dr. Shepherd
LESLIE H.
Submitted 05/06/20
Wonderful
John S.
Submitted 02/26/20
Dr Sheppard did an outstanding job repairing my hernia, which I had for many years. The surgery went smoothly and had very little pain post surgery. It's been over a week now and I am extremely happy with the results! Top notch Doctor and staff, couldn't have gone any better from start to finish.