Testimonials & Reviews

Ray Sheppard Jr., MD

General Surgery and Advanced Robotic Surgery located in Huntsville, AL & Madison, AL

101 total reviews

Dr. Ray Sheppard Jr. always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 101 reviews with an average rating of 4.91 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Ray Sheppard Jr. below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Cheri S.
Submitted 12/24/18
Dr. Sheppard is a wonderful surgeon. His staff is also awesome! This was my first surgery ever so I was very nervous. Everyone including Dr. Sheppard made me feel so comfortable. I would highly recommend Dr. Sheppard.
Katherine A.
Submitted 12/08/18
Dr Shepard was very nice and informative about what was going on. I was able to get the surgery a week after and recovery is going well! I would recommend!
Cary P.
Submitted 12/05/18
I was very pleased with my care from Dr. Sheppard. He was very clear in all that was going to be done and he prayed with me before surgery. That truly meant a lot to me. He is very professional and kind. I would go back and I highly recommend him.
Anne H.
Submitted 12/02/18
Dr. Sheppard,Jr has a very good bed side manner. He cares about his patients, and goes the extra mile in caring for their problems. I'm very happy I have him as my doctor.
Tyler W.
Submitted 12/02/18
Best surgeon ever!!
Joan E.
Submitted 12/01/18
I love Dr. Sheppard! Great bedside manner!
Belinda P.
Submitted 12/01/18
Dr. Sheppard and his staff durning my visits were kind, prompt and professional. I appreciate Dr. Sheppard very much..hes a great doctor.
Leonard C.
Submitted 12/01/18
Very good
Sandy R.
Submitted 12/01/18
Dr. Sheppard,Jr.is an exceptional doctor. He is a great and skilled surgeon. His manner is very compassionate, caring, and empathetic, also has a sense of humor. He has saved me more than once, in the past twelve years. "Thank You, Dr. Sheppard,Jr." from the bottom of my heart. He office staff and nurses are also very caring and sensitive. My Story, …....My Miracle. When UAB felt there was nothing more they could do for me, I was sad, but I wasn't giving up. It's true, I was in pretty rough condition, but I knew someday I would get stronger. I'm a real fighter when it comes to living.I have a husband, three children, their spouses, and two very special grand daughters. They are my 'Angels' that keep me going. In the beginning of 2016, my husband was having a hard time packing my wound. He said, something (in me) was starting to block the hole. A few days later he insisted I go see my family doctor and get a cat scan. My doctor called me with the results and all she said, was “find yourself a surgeon.” Once again, I felt like,....... to hard to describe, when somebody doesn't have the answers, you need. Dr. M, who did the original surgery on (6/26/12), said he really didn't want to do anything more for me. He called me, ”his miracle of 2012,” and wanted it to stay like that. I didn't hold it against, in fact I thanked him for saving my life. I called Dr. N and made an appointment to see him. He asked, who did the surgery?......the rest is history. I later found out that Dr. M and Dr. N often worked together. MAY 2016 – I made an appointment with Dr. Raymond Sheppard, Jr. He was my surgeon for the hernia surgery that I had in May 2006. He hadn't seen me since that surgery, I looked at it this way, I knew I was much stronger, than when I went to UAB in 2013. It was amazing! All he could do that day was to look at the wound, repack it and said, “come back in two weeks.” When my husband and I drove back home, I said, “It's great, he wants to see me again”. I said, to my husband, “Do you know why he wants to see again?” My husband muttered a few words. I said, “No, he wants to see me again, because he is going to research my medical records!” SECOND VISIT: I said, to my husband, “Show the doctor exactly what is getting in your way, when you pack me.” Dr. Sheppard had the nurse get a tray of instruments. He thought he could grab it and pull it out. It really didn't seem that big, after several minutes of tugging a ¼ “ - ½ “ corner of the Gortex mesh, he gave it a good yank. Then he said, “In the words of my father, look what you just delivered!” and rest is history. From that moment on my body started to heal. PS. Dr. Raymond Sheppard,Sr. (his father) is an O.B. / GYN. Doctor in Huntsville. SUMMARY: The GORTEX mesh had finally come loose and migrated from my lower right side to the middle of my abdomen. It's believed that my last bout with pneumonia appeared to do some good. I remember at the first appointment May 12th, 2016, telling his nurse that she probably had never seen anything like this before. She was sweet and said, “Oh we see all kinds of things”. After Dr. Sheppard had pulled the Gortex mesh out, she agreed, my situation was probably “One of a Kind.” It was exactly ten years and two days after Hernia Surgery in May 2006, that the doctor who had fixed my hernia, would be the same doctor to pull the remaining piece of Gortex mesh out. ......and I am so thankful to be alive and living. Sandy R.
Timothy R.
Submitted 12/01/18
Visit was a follow-up from a surgery, which went very well (didn't even need any medicine for pain). Dr. Sheppard answered all of my questions without rushing. I would definitely use him again should I require surgery in the future. Great bedside manner.
Cas T.
Submitted 11/30/18
Great experience from initial consultation; preparation for surgery; surgery; and follow-up consultation. Staff was warm and most appreciative of the thoughts and prayers conveyed by the entire staff.
Don Ross O.
Submitted 11/30/18
Had an emergency situation and Dr. Sheppard was very quickly and easily reached. From multiple counties away he arranged transport and completed the surgery in a very timely fashion. He was very courteous and thorough with my family. Couldn't have asked for a better doctor.
Eric L.
Submitted 11/30/18
Dr Shephard was very professional, he made me feel better about the procedure that he was performing and even prayed with me to ease my anxiety before surgery. I greatly appreciate how he handled my surgery and after care.
Donald H.
Submitted 11/29/18
Dr. Sheppard is a wonderful surgeon and doctor. He has a great bedside manner, spends time with his patients explaining surgical options, and has an amazing skill set as a surgeon. Accessible, humble, and a man of faith, he is an example of how surgical medicine is supposed to be practiced. I highly recommend him.
Cheryl B.
Submitted 11/29/18
No one wants surgery, but this is a wonderful, expert, caring surgeon, who treated me as an individual. If I have to have another surgery, I would want him again. Also great office and staff.
Teresa S.
Submitted 11/29/18
Dr. Sheppard is a great Dr.! He is very knowledgeable and personable. He listens to your concerns and answers your questions and you don’t feel rushed. He spends as much time with you as you need. Very kind and genuinely concerned about his patients. So blessed to have him as my Dr. Would highly recommend him!
Charles T.
Submitted 11/29/18
Dr. Sheppard provided excellent feedback and was attentive to my concerns about a procedure. Recovery is not over yet, however, things are going well at this point.
Felisa R.
Submitted 11/29/18
Love everyone
Nora S.
Submitted 11/28/18
My experience was quite positive!
Keith A.
Submitted 11/27/18
Very professional!